Top menu



Most Rev. William Crean has accepted the resignation from office, on the grounds of retirement, of the following priests in the Diocese of Cloyne to come into effect at noon on Saturday 11th September 2021.


V. Rev Canon Denis Kelleher, PP Aghada
V. Rev. Patrick Scanlan, PP, Castletownroche



Bishop Crean has made the following appointments in the Diocese of Cloyne with effect from noon on Saturday 11th September  2021.


V. Rev Patrick Scanlan P.E., to be Chaplain to Nazareth House
Rev. John Keane, CC Macroom on sick leave
V. Rev Robin Morrissey, PP Churchtown-Liscarroll, to be PP Castletownroche
V. Rev Eugene Baker, PP Buttevant, and also ADM. Churchtown-Liscarroll
Rev Thomas (Tommy) Lane, in residence in Mitchelstown to be CC Mallow
Rev Daniel (Danny) Murphy, in residence in Carrigtwohill to be PP Aghada
V. Rev John McCarthy, CC Mallow to be PP Ballyvourney
V. Rev Michael Leader, PP Ballyclough and assisting in Churchtown-Liscarroll
Rev. James Moore, Diocesan Secretary and alsoCoordinator of Mission and Ministry (pro tem)
Rev Patrick McCarthy, CC Aghada to be CC (pro tem)in Macroom
Rev Deacon Leonard Cleary, (newly ordained) to serve in Charleville parish



I, as Bishop, and the people of the diocese are deeply indebted to our priests for their generosity of spirit and commitment.


As Fr. Denis Kelleher and Fr. Patrick Scanlan retire from full time ministry, we are grateful to God for their ministry in the various parishes they served.  We pray the blessing of serenity upon their retirement.


We pray too, for those taking on new assignments.  Transition always brings its own demand.  Covid 19 adds to  the list of adjustments that change demands.  We pray the blessing of contentment upon them.

+ William Crean

Further information: Fr Jim Moore, 086 8694744 or

  • Upcoming Events:

    There are no upcoming events at this time.

Website by Web Design Cork by Egg.